T20 World Cup: Suryakumar’s last-over catch sparks controversy due to displaced rope

|

India defeated South Africa by seven runs in Barbados

Suryakumar Yadav's match-winning catch didn't come without controversy. — ScreengrabIndia defeated South Africa by seven runs to win the T20 World Cup 2024 at the Kensington Oval, Barbados, on Saturday but doubts have now been raised about their win due to Suyrakumar Yadav’s last-over catch.South Africa required 16 runs in the last over and Hardik Pandya took the ball. David Miller was on strike and he hit a full toss for a six on a straight hit but Suryakumar took a brilliant catch, which has also been regarded as the best grab of the T20 World Cup.The ball looked certain to cross the boundary ropes but Suryakumar grabbed it while running. He juggled the ball and went over the ropes to avoid his feet touching the ropes, jumped back again and held on to the ball, which ultimately won the match for India. The decision went to the third umpire, Richard Kettleborough, who had a quick view at it and declared the catch legal, which ended Miller’s innings and eventually the Proteas’ hopes of lifting their maiden title.Soon after India were crowned champions, controversy sparked on social media with some arguing that Surykumar’s shoe flicked the boundary ropes while grabbing the catch. Not just that, the boundary ropes also looked out of position before the Indian took the match-winning catch.WATCH HERE As per the ICC’s playing conditions, the cushion is considered the boundary and not the white line which can be seen in the pictures. Section 19.3 states: "If a solid object used to mark the boundary is disturbed for any reason, then the boundary shall be considered to be in its original position."It was further argued that the boundary rope should’ve been moved back into its original position. Section 19.3.2 states: “If a solid object used to mark the boundary is disturbed for any reason, the object shall be returned to its original position as soon as is practicable; if play is taking place, this shall be as soon as the ball is dead.” Suryakumar Yadav Comments Submit Mubashir latif commented 7 months agoI think it is useless to consider these things because game is over. Reply Ind cheating commented 7 months agoInd cheating Reply Vaibhav commented 7 months agoWhat rubbish Reply Pavan commented 7 months agoit looks clean only.. Reply Hemanta commented 7 months agoIt was referred to 3rd Umpire and I think his decision is final. This is pointless discussion. Refrain from this. Reply Ashfaq commented 7 months agoUseless discussion. Third umpire decision is Final. Even if 6 was allowed SA was needing 10 runs in 5 balls. What is the guarantee?? Reply Prithvi commented 7 months agoLoosers are always a cry baby , better ignoring them. Deserving team won Reply Majid commented 7 months agoYe World cup final fix tha, Ind ko hi milna tha Sharma aur Kohli ko gift... 30 required in 30 balls is not a high mountain. Cricket is just a business, nothing else. Sab ki income Hoti he is se Reply Piyush Sharma commented 6 months ago30 for 30 but pakistan always forget 47 for 47 they did exactly same thing... Reply asif commented 7 months agoindian is cheater always cheater but now game is over . Reply Jadugar commented 6 months agoThere are higher authority like technical, disciplinary committee of ICC. They will take up necessary action if required. Those who say India is cheater they are anti-Indian, not cricket lover. Reply مضمون کا ماخذ:را کی کتاب
سائٹ کا نقشہ